Client Reviews

Review us on Google
View our Reviews on Google
  • 5 star review  I had a great experience working with Doug and his team and am happy I chose to go with them! They painted my kitchen, dining room, hallway and one of my bathrooms for a very reasonable price and did a great job -- I can't find any areas I'm not happy with. Doug especially went above and beyond, meeting with me at times that fit my schedule and even fixing a closet doorknob that had nothing to do with the job but that he noticed and I told him I was having trouble fixing. Great communication and follow-through all around and awesome clean-up job. 😀

    thumb Katie Harger
    1/07/2019

    5 star review  Doug and his crew worked with us this summer to remove and replace all of the trim and doors in our house. This was a lead abatement project which I was wary to do since I have young kids and was pregnant, but Doug and his crew took our family's safety very seriously. Doug worked with me for a long time before we started the project to determine the best approach. He was very flexible when the scope of the project changed and he kept us within our budget. All of the work they did was high quality. We moved out of our house while the work was being done, so timelines were important to us. The dates they gave us were accurate. Doug is one of the most responsive and trustworthy people I have worked with in this industry.

    thumb Molly Higgins
    11/20/2018
  • 4 star review  We hired Wolverine Custom Painting to renovate the first floor of our home. It started out with a kitchen renovation and adding a shower in our half bath. It later involved moving walls to accommodate a larger laundry room and create a mudroom storage area. The project took all summer and involved every single room in our first floor (except for one room that housed most of our furniture!). We chose Wolverine Custom Painting because we had a very positive experience with the company when they painted the exterior of our home the summer before. In addition, when getting quotes for this big project, Doug Fox, the owner, seemed to be the most reasonable and willing to work in our price range. He gave me all of the receipts for the project and helped figure out different ways to save money. He is a contractor who is willing to pass savings on to his customers. He walked me through the process of renovation and has a good team of subcontractors for electrical, plumbing, etc. The only recommendation I was not pleased with was an interior designer, Elizabeth J, who was unprofessional towards Doug and me. As with any major renovation job, there are frustrations and occasions when you have to make quick decisions. Doug was very approachable and easy to contact throughout the project. John, the foreman on the job, is a very skilled carpenter (and excellent at tiles as well). He was good at being able to solve problems while keeping in mind practicality and budget. Another Doug, who is a painter, was meticulous in painting the interior of our house. He even used his craftsmanship to paint the cement on the floor to look like the slate that did not quite extend below some of the cabinets we had taken out. Being that Wolverine Custom Painting specializes in painting, this renovation project was pretty big for the company. As a result, there were issues with billing since Doug oversees all of the building projects in addition to administrative responsibilities. He is honest, hard working and dedicated, and realizes the need to hire someone to help with office responsibilities. I would highly recommend this company to anyone willing to take a chance on a small company that is branching into the home remodeling world.

    thumb S Family
    1/05/2019

    5 star review  This is the second project I’ve had Wolverine do for me. Again, I am pleased. They completely restored my deck and gazebo doing carpentry, sanding, pressure washing, screen repair and painting. Doug outlined the scope of the project and his different crews came and got the job done. All the workers are polite and competent. This will be the company I’ll call for future projects. Very professional and trustworthy.

    thumb Sara Dansky
    8/01/2018
  • 5 star review  We have used Wolverine for two projects. The first one was a large basement remodeling job. The carpenters were super friendly and did great work. They were creative in getting straight corners in this old crooked house. They also worked quickly, so since they charge by the hour, we saved a lot off the quote & were unexpectedly able to afford them to paint too! The most recent project was a few small drywall projects. As always, the workers were very friendly and clean. I was unhappy with the recent paint job because the color wasn’t matched well at the store, so Doug (the owner) drove out & repainted the whole wall the next business day. Excellent customer service!

    thumb Lisa Roossien
    8/27/2018

    5 star review  I have used Doug and his guys to paint absolutely everything inside and outside our home and I have to say their work is excellent. They are clean and punctual and have always been considerate and respectful around my family. I have no reservations in recommending Wolverine for any painting job. Although Doug and his guys can also help with paint colors, for the interior we combined their talents with the design skills of Elizabeth Jarzembowski and built a home with show-quality ambience, exploiting the natural light and external views to create a warmth and ambience we couldn’t have imagined on our own.

    thumb Pete Spence
    7/21/2019
  • 5 star review  We were very happy with the work Wolverine did refinishing our deck. It was in bad shape and needed sanding as well as pressure washing. The job was thoroughly and carefully completed. Doug helped us understand the process and kept us informed throughout the process. He and his workers were courteous and efficient. We would use Wolverine for any future home maintenance project.

    thumb Roger Parker
    7/02/2019

    5 star review  So pleased to have hired Wolverine Custom Painting to build my deck! Doug Fox and his employees worked efficiently, politely and in very friendly manner. Doug kept me appraised of the process and problems that arose and he found reasonable and economical solutions for them. I definitely will use Wolverine Custom Painting again and I highly recommend them.

    thumb David Semplici
    6/18/2019
  • 5 star review  Just talked to Doug and he was extremely knowledgeable and helpful. Helpful in that even though he could not meet my timing expectations, Doug spent time explaining the details on how to get the deck cleaned and painted and the pros cons of paints. I would highly recommend Wolverine Custom painting,

    thumb Deepak Goel
    6/14/2019

    5 star review  We had some ipe columns that needed to be power washed/deep cleaned and new finish applied. Woverine did an excellent job in a timely manner! The final project turned out great and they left the work site spotless. Great people to work with.

    thumb David Barbour
    8/06/2019
Custom Carpentry Work Ann Arbor

Doug, thank you so much for giving us such a beautiful bathroom, it really turned out so great. There are no leaks and everything in the shower is rock solid, something we will enjoy for many years to come. With your skills and my decorating I think we did really good!!!

Marge & Randy S. Letter from Client Ann Arbor, MI June 1, 2015

Custom Carpentry Work Ann Arbor

I have engaged Wolverine Custom Painting LLC for dozens of projects over the past 4+ years. He and his staff are friendly, professional and completely reliable. Doug, the owner, is meticulous in his workmanship and goes above and beyond to make sure all work is done correctly. He is extremely versatile, having expertise in tile laying, painting, floor refinishing, carpentry — actually, I haven’t encountered anything he can’t do. Plus, I appreciate good-natured willingness to switch gears and take on a different project when some emergency occurs and our priorities change.

As others have written, he is totally honest, trustworthy and reasonably priced. I cannot recommend Doug and his equally competent and personable workers more highly. I feel fortunate to have them in our life.

Pat M. YELP Ann Arbor, MI May 13, 2015

Custom Carpentry Work Ann Arbor

It was a very positive experience – from the initial phone call to the final product. Doug Fox (owner) promptly returned my call, listened to what I needed done, and was out to review the job within 24 hours. He was very straightforward about how he and his crew approached a job, and the work was started within three days. The workers were very professional, arriving as promised and completed the work within the estimated time. Before submitting any invoice, Doug wanted to do a “walk through” to make sure not only we, but he as well, were satisfied with the work. I am very pleased with the results and plan to use Wolverine again in the future for any painting / home improvement projects.

I would recommend Wolverine Custom Painting, LLC. without reservation.

Linda R. Angie's List Ann Arbor, MI May 7, 2015

Custom Painter Ann Arbor

Doug and his crew is extremely pleasant to work with. They’re responsive and courteous throughout the time of the project. I especially appreciate how they tended to details. My only complaint is the final price is about $1000 above the initial estimation because of the extra hours needed. But the finished work is very satisfactory.